Winter reading

Just before Christmas I read some more poems at Karamel in Wood Green. The poems were inspired by Jehane Markham’s Poetry In Colour course, part of the Haringey Literature Live programme co-ordinated by Kate Pemberton of Ambit magazine.

Red Woman On A Pink Bed came from a painting by Anne Rothenstein.

Rothenstein

 

I am tipping

like the flower heads

enjoying my own curves

touching with palm frond fingers

 

Sensation starts silver

melts through pinks and sapphires

into red

 

My bed

doesn’t contain me

I drape above

propped only by myself

I love the petal smoothness of my shape

I love its dense intensity

 

After the painting

after the still moment

I will rumple

I will burn

2 thoughts on “Winter reading

Leave a Reply

